6 Responses to “Note on Notes and Status Updates”

  1. Ricardo July 16, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    My head’s been where it’s always been–up my a**, cono. I’ve been fighting dis and I’ve been fighting dat. I like da word “activist.” Hmm. I am an activist in my own right…I certainly have been actively fighting my landlord.

    It’s good to hear you are well. You know I’m your number 817 fan (but you’re top Po’Rican male one…with olive eyes…and a long braid…and who smokes American Spirit menthol), yo!

    Abrazos, m’ija.

    • Mary Ann DeVlieg July 17, 2012 at 2:32 am #

      Well, since you asked…

      I’ve been thinking abut our time last summer (was it a year ago?) at Wasan, and how I missed it this year.

      I’m in Venice, and it’s been realllll hot (for me, that is, prob not for an Afghan/Indian/Pakistani/Iranian/North African/Arab/Turkish/Palermitano/South Floridian … ok, you get my drift. 98° is hot for me.

      I’ve been trying to be patient and not try to push the global arts/human rights/social justice community to become a united ‘thing’ just because I want it to be, and to just let go and let it happen. (well,for now, prob when the wether cools down I’ll get obsessed again)

      I’v been trying to remember that getting upset about word events doesn’t help anyone, what counts is staying steady enough yourself to actually do something about it.

      and I don’t blog or care about likes or hits, and hardly FB and have stopped tweeting a long time ago.

      and i do love reading what you are up to!

      xx

      MA

      • Mary Ann DeVlieg July 17, 2012 at 2:34 am #

        ….and I ought to proof-read what I write before i upload it so I can correct the typos. (But then again, maybe “word events” are as disturbing as world events?)

  2. Sabina July 17, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    hi Kayhan, another great post as usual. What kind of research will you do when you arrive to India? I hope that you will write more informative posts on your blog about how to bring social justice/change with the arts together in countries like Afghanistan and Pakistan. I’m interested in doing something similar with deaf children in East Africa and South Asia, but I have no idea how or where to get started. Peace

  3. bedisvan July 30, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    Great comment Keyhan. Great to see what you have been up to. As for me, its all about classes and education, for now. Wish you good luck and success in all of your efforts for ten more ten weeks to come.

  4. Jane Kingman Brundage August 12, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Kayhan – Thank you for a wonderful reflection on time needed to process your experiences … prior to ‘percolating’ the next project! I live in Mexico City and am in touch with various projects of “Artivism” — Great Moniker that resonated with me!

    Australian friends are on now their way to Ethiopia to do a performance movement / storytelling project in a village. A friend of my Canadian friend is on her way to do a ‘textile’ project in a village in India. Our friend is working with indigenous embroiderers in Zirahuén, Michoacán, Mexico. A multidisciplinary, multicultural show is opening Aug 23 at the Spanish Cultural Center here in Mexico City: Seven Artists (Mexico, Spain, Argentina, Peru) worked for two months with Indigenous embroiderers in State of Hidalgo to produce 50 pieces for this show–not just embroidery pieces, but photographs, video and a “dream book”.

    My blog is: Jenny’s Journal of Mexican Culture: http://jennysmexico.blogspot.mx

Leave a Reply

