3 Responses to “Back to Basics”

  1. Hector Aristizabal December 3, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Dear Kayhan thanks so mcuh for bringing us with you in this unique adventure. I had the pleasure of doing TO in Kabul in October of 2009 with the wonderful people of AHRDO an Afghan Human Rights organization with my dear friend Hjalmar. Do you know of this organization> They have been utilizing TO and Playback for many years and have created a TO manual and translated it into Dare and Pashtun. If you don;t know them I would like to put you in cntact with them. I also have another friend who recently did a trainng workshop with me in Rome and who is also traveling to Kabul in December. He wants to do his internship in Kabul using TO as part of his University studies. Please let me know if I could provide him with your information. If you don;t remember me we met in Rio at the big encounter there. Be well, Hector Aristizabal

    • kayhanartivista December 3, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

      Hi Hector dear,

      Yes I certainly remember you from the gathering in Brazil. Thanks so much for reaching out to me. I have had the great pleasure to meet the team at AHRDO both in NYC and here in Kabul. Sadly, my time here is too short for me to be with them for a longer period of time. Thank you for offering to connect me to them. I’d be glad to meet your student from Rome and share with him anything I can.

      Warmest wishes to you,
      Kayhan

  2. Karyn December 3, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I love the concept of the “forest of freedom”. As a solution-focused counselor, I’m so conscious of the need to focus on the solution, rather than the problem. Yes, it’s necessary to identify the problem, but briefly. Focusing on solutions is where true empowerment comes from. Some might even say that if you focus on the problem, more of the problem comes to you; so if you focus on the solution, you create positive change. All this fits with Newton’s Third Law: For every action there is always an equal and opposite reaction. NOT to say that putting out peace results in the opposite reaction, violence, but that every force has two ends. Each of the two ends is the same except for being opposite in DIRECTION. The ends of a force are mirror images of each other, so peaceful solutions come back as peaceful solutions, if you keep your eye on the solution & not the problem. (Best illustrated by Newton’s pendulum or Newton’s cradle of metal balls. There are visuals of this in motion on the internet to help illustrate the point to your group.) Kudos to the creator of the “forest of freedom”!

Leave a Reply

