7 Responses to “Day 3 & 4 – The stories”

  1. Diana Barnett July 15, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    My dear Kayhan.
    I do believe that the story of this “gentle man” will be a story that stays with you forever. It will be your “tool” to continue your great work and also your “tool” to honor the faith you need to know how important your work is for you and for many….

    Billy and I send hugs…and love…di xo

  2. Hilda carr-gaona July 16, 2010 at 2:30 am #

    Thank u for sharing your experiences. It gives me a new perspective. U r courageous. I admire that. Take care. Hilda.

  3. William Berg July 17, 2010 at 3:01 am #

    Brilliant, brave, and inspiring!

    Thank you, Kayhan, for bringing these amazing experiences back to us!

  4. Karyn July 17, 2010 at 5:41 am #

    K.

    Such a simple concept–the problem tree–& yet so powerful. I plan to use this in my work as a counselor. Thanks for sharing.

    Miss you. Denny & Mema send their love.

    big hugs,
    Karyn

  5. Jessica July 17, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    K and all,

    This story reminds me of an experience you created. I remember when we were at a TIGRA meeting that you had organized at the AFSC. We were doing a popcorn style q & a – answering Fran and Jackie’s question about what we would want to buy for our hometowns if our communities were re-invested in by money transfer companies. You answered unflinchingly “musical instruments.” The whole room looked, felt perplexed, judging and lost, including Fran. And you sat their firm and confident and said something like; communities need investment in music, art, dance and culture to thrive.

    You made us all question the necessity and power of creativity that day, and often I have remembered that moment.

    I remember this now listening to how these theater artists in Afghanistan are reminding you to have faith and unwavering commitment in what you have already long known to be true, that no matter what kind of oppression and devastation, the creative is a necessary resource.

    Wisdom and heart is lovely.

    Love,
    J

  6. Cal Ward Jr. July 18, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Perhaps respect is a root of the tree and not merely a fruit.
    Meeting people, like you are, in a neutral space, trying to reach out and understand without hostility: Respect/Trust (I have trouble separating the two) has to be the first step.
    In my improv days I learned about Yes/And – giving 100% positive response to your partner’s suggestion, building on it and hoping they do the same in return. Does the same apply to social reconstruction?
    Is respect/trust something to be given or earned? Think about it: you meet someone. Do you give 100% respect/trust at the risk of withdrawing it later out of betrayal? Or do you give it out incrementally as they show you signs of respect and trust in return?
    You have to make a decision to trust your theatre partner. You have to make a decision as to whether you respect a country before you decide to bomb it.

  7. Christina July 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    My dear dear friend – thank you for taking us all with you on this journey – I feel close to you even when you are so far away – I marvel at the deep deep exchange of positivity you are having with these committed artivists and how much this exchange will enrich all of your lives. You are living the quote that I love so much – “If you have come here to help me you are wasiting your time. But, if you have come because your liberation is bound up with mine, then let us work together”!

    Miss you every day and look forward to the day we are in the same room again – for now I thank my stars that I am blessed to be in the same universe with you!

    Yours in solidarity,
    Christina

Leave a Reply

