11 Responses to “Experiencing Time”

  1. Jasjit Singh November 24, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    Thank you, how absolutely lovely the way you distil your thoughts and articulate ideas………..what an evocative collection of fotos. Are’nt you at the Hindi class now? how is it progressing especially your french gujju fellow student……….will you be in tonight?

  2. Ricardo November 24, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Hey, Kayhan. I’m sorry, but today I have no poetic, introspective, awe-inspiring response. I just wish I were there wearing a red dress made of fancy doilies, just so I could ride in that pink car down all those roads going this way and that way eventually getting to that red fort where I’d beat my own drum with big ol’ Puerto Rican red, white and blue LED lights, yo. ¡Wepa, coño!

  3. Mini November 26, 2012 at 4:23 am #

    Hey Kayhan so nice to see and hear from you such nice narratives, I am planning to be in Mumbai on 20/21st Dec to meet a friend of mine , she is also parsi, let me know if you are around. will only stay forcuple of days and return.

  4. Rose Sue November 26, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    Beautiful Kay. I want more pictures with you in them!

  5. Eva November 26, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    The women’s world is elucidated in your words, Kayhan jan. And it’s striking, this open-ended quality to your life – it’s definitely a switch from how we’re mentally geared up here in the States. Thank you for breathing that looseness into your words. I will bring that into my day today. Weaving. Noticing. Thank you.

  6. Ken November 26, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    Kayhan! Great to read your thought-full reportage. It brings back our time in Delhi last year (at the beginning of Diwali too!)…including two visits to textile tactory/co-ops. We fell in love with the intensity and richness of just about every aspect of the culture. I am thankful for you and your brave, open, adventurous work!

    • Grace Nono November 27, 2012 at 1:47 am #

      Beautiful!

      Thank you, and take care.

      Grace

  7. Andrea Artz November 30, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    Hi Kayhan,

    you probably don’t remember me. We were in a English literature class together at Hunter College and both in the CUNY Baccalaureate Program. My concentration was studio art and I work as a photographer.

    I always really enjoy reading your blog, specifically this time about India. I have been there twice myself, and was fascinated by the way arts and crafts are displayed in daily life even if surrounded by poverty. There is a beauty in there which can be found at every street corner.

    I now live in London and work as an artist and photographer, but I am very interested in the way the traditional arts and contemporary (digital) life can connect in the future.

    And I like your photographs!

    Have a really good time in India!

    Best wishes,

    Andrea

    • kayhanartivista December 7, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      Hi Andrea,
      Yes I remember you from the Immigrant Literature course! I’m so glad to know you are doing well and following your passion. Thanks for the compliment on the photos! Coming from you it feels great!
      xoxo

  8. Natasha December 6, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Beautifully written. Great to hear from you through this blog. Is that really your niece?

    • kayhanartivista December 7, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      Hey Natasha,
      It’s my cousin’s daughter so she’s not “exactly” my niece but is considered so. If and when Jay has a child I’ll let you (and everyone) know. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,201 other followers

